Systematic Literature Reviews and Mapping Studies have become an important and productive research method in software engineering in the past fifteen years or so. A Systematic literature review is a form of secondary study that uses a well-defined methodology to identify, analyze and interpret all available evidence related to a specific research question in a way that is unbiased and (to a degree) repeatable. A Mapping study is a broad review of primary studies in a specific topic area which aims to identify what evidence is available on the topic. To encourage the submission of Systematic literature studies, the SMSE track at SEAA 2023 will bring together researchers and practitioners to share their results and experiences in this area.


Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to:

  • Organizational and business views on process improvement
  • Value-based software engineering
  • Global software engineering
  • Quality assurance, inspections, testing
  • Software process improvement and process standards
  • Process modelling, composition, and enactment
  • Process simulation
  • Product management
  • Quantitative models for development processes and products
  • Software architecture
  • Dependability, safety, security, or usability
  • Open source software and software quality
  • Agile and lean development
  • Software reuse, product lines, and software ecosystems
  • Innovative approaches to software development
  • Software evolution
  • Empirical studies and experimental approaches

Furthermore, papers on methodological issues and tool support for Systematic Literature Reviews and Mapping Studies are very welcome.

The conference proceedings in the last years have been published by the IEEE Computer Society. The format is the IEEE two-column proceedings format (8 pages for full papers and 4 pages for short papers). 

Submission will be handled via EasyChair, please find general submission information for SEAA on the conference homepage.

Track/Session Organizers

Program Committee:

Federico Ciccozzi, Mälardalen University
Sebastian Herold, Karlstad University, Department of Computer Science
Sherlock Licorish, University of Otago
Gustavo Carvalho, Federal University of Pernambuco
Érica Souza, UTFPR
Sara Hassan, Birmingham City University
Wasif Afzal, Mälardalen University
Nemitari Ajienka, Nottingham Trent University
Vasilios Andrikopoulos, University of Groningen
Mahir Arzoky, Brunel University
Nathan Baddoo, University of Hertfordshire
Rami Bahsoon, School of Computer Sc, University of Birmingham
Jim Buckley, University of Limerick
Francesca Arcelli Fontana, University of Milano – Bicocca
Giuseppe Destefanis, Brunel University
Michael English, Lero, CSIS, University of Limerick
Katia Romero Felizardo, UTFPR-CP
César França, Federal Rural University of Pernambuco – UFRPE
Rachel Harrison, University of Oxford Brookes
Fabio Petrillo, Universite du Quebec a Chicoutimi
Marco Kuhrmann, Reutlingen University
Birgitta Lindström, University of Skövde
Sandro Morasca, Università degli Studi dell’Insubria
Marco Ortu, DIEE – Dept. of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Norsaremah Salleh, International Islamic University Malaysia
Gleison Santos, UNIRIO
Alper Sen, Bogazici University
Amjed Tahir, Massey University
Corrado Aaron Visaggio, University of Sannio
Xiaofeng Wang, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
Emily Winter, Lancaster University
Bianca Napoleao, University of Quebec