Special Session Scope

The scope of this special session is on all views of hardware-oriented security. The session provides an excellent opportunity to present new results from both the research and industry communities. Of special interests are contributions that describe new methods for secure-and-efficient hardware implementations for embedded systems, hardware Trojans – insertion/detection methodologies, side channel analysis, fault attacks, security of Industrial Internet of Things, security of IoT etc. The topics of this special session include but are not limited to:

  • Applications of secure hardware
  • Attacks against hardware implementations and countermeasures
  • Hardware Trojans and detection techniques
  • IC Trust and anti-Counterfeiting
  • Reverse engineering and hardware obfuscation
  • Hardware security primitives: PUFs and TRNGs
  • Security architectures in Embedded Systems
  • Protection of Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT)
  • Protection of Internet of Things (IoT)
  • Crypto implementations in area constrained environments
  • Processors for smart card security
  • Secure life cycle management
  • Energy-aware secure architectures
  • Security architectures for pervasive computing and wireless applications/protocols
  • Trusted computing platforms
  • Secure System-on-Chip (SoC) designs
  • Lightweight cryptography and implementations
  • Vehicular security hardware implementations
  • Hardware architectures for cryptanalysis
  • Reconfigurable cryptographic primitives
  • Performance evaluation of secure hardware

Submission Guidelines

Authors are encouraged to submit their manuscripts via EasyChair web service at web page. Each manuscript should include the complete paper text, all illustrations, and references. The manuscript should conform to the IEEE format: single-spaced, double column, US letter page size, 10-point size Times Roman font, up to 8 pages. In order to conduct a blind review, no indication of the authors’ names should appear in the manuscript, references included.

Special Session Chair

P. Kitsos (University of Peloponnese – GR)

M. Novotny (Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic)

Special Session Program Committee

  • Giovanni Agosta, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Aydin Aysu, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Luca Cassano, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Avik Chakraborti, NTT Secure Platform Laboratories, Japan
  • Rajat Subhra Chakraborty, Indian Inst. of Tech. Kharagpur, India
  • Ray Cheung, City University of Hong Kong, HK
  • Zoya Dyka, IHP – Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik, Germany
  • Jacques Fournier, CEA Leti, France
  • Apostolos Fournaris, Industrial Systems Institute/RC Athina, Greece
  • Elif Bilge Kavun, University of Passau, Germany
  • Odysseas Koufopavlou, University of Patras, Greece
  • Ulrich Kühne, Telecom ParisTech, France
  • Francesco Leporati, University of Pavia, Italy
  • Robert Lorencz, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
  • Vojtěch Miškovský, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
  • Martin Novotny, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
  • Gerardo Pelosi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Thomas Plos, NXP Semiconductors, Austria
  • Miguel Morales-Sandoval, CINVESTAV-LTI, Mexico
  • Fabrizio De Santis, SIEMENS AG, Germany
  • Georgios Selimis, AXELERA, The Netherlands
  • Nicolas Sklavos, University of Patras, Greece
  • Sergei Skorobogatov, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Takeshi Sugawara, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan
  • Jo Vliegen, KU Leuven, Belgium

Contact Information

Paris Kitsos
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
University of the Peloponnese, Patras, Greece, GR-26334

M. Novotny (CTU Prague, CZ)
Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
e-mail: martin.novotny@fit.cvut.cz